Our School App Stay connected on the go...



Royal Park Primary Academy is part of The Kemnal Academies Trust [TKAT] which is a multi-academy trust that was established on 1st September 2010. Local Governing Bodies [LGB] have been established for each Academy and they are responsible for fulfilling the strategic governance role.

Please click HERE for the Directors of the TKAT Board

For information about TKAT Governance please CLICK HERE

Please click HERE to see the Scheme of Delegation

Please click HERE to view the Master Funding Agreement, Articles of Association and Accounts.

Please click HERE for the declaration of Governors Business Interests (2021-2022)

Please click HERE for the declaration of Governors Business Interests (2020-2021)

Please click HERE for the constitution and composition (September 2021)

Please click HERE to meet the Trustees.

Royal Park Primary Academy Governing Body Constitution

Composition of Local Governing Bodies (LGBs)

The Scheme of Delegation deliberately does not prescribe the composition of LGBs.  This is to allow flexibility, particularly where LGBs are federated.

Therefore, although the Board of Trustees reserves the right to determine the composition of LGBs, in practice an LGB is free to determine its own composition to ensure that it is able to carry out the core delegated functions. 

Most Governing Bodies in TKAT are composed of:  2 parents, 2 Staff, the Headteacher and appointed Governors as appropriate. 


Parents Governors are ideally parents of children currently in school (elected by a ballot of current parents), where this is not possible somebody who is a parent of child in the school or is the parent of a child in another school could be appointed.  There should be a minimum of 2 parents on each LGB.  Parents who would be eligible to stand as a staff governor at the school, or are an elected councillor are not eligible to stand as a parent governor.


It is good practice to have one member of the teaching staff and one member of the support staff on the LGB  (elected by the staff).  Governors who are employed by the Academy or by TKAT generally should not be Chair or Vice Chair of the LGB, or of individual committees, other than in exceptional circumstances.  The majority of governors should not be employed by the Academy.

The Headteacher can choose whether they sit on the Governing Body as a voting member or in a non-voting advisory capacity.


Appointed Governors is a catchall phrase for all other governors, including what used to be called community Governors.  Whilst the Board of Trustees reserves the right to appoint these Governors directly in practice this is usually left to the LGB.  Once the size and composition of the Governing Body is determined there is no scope to co-opt further Governors (but it can include others on the LGB as advisors in a non-voting capacity).  The Appointed Governors should form a majority.

Structure and Composition

Where an LGB serves more than one school there is the flexibility to determine a composition according to the needs of the school.  Possible models include:

  • Separate Governing Bodies for each school, with individual Governors serving on more than one LGB
  • A single LGB for all of the schools involved in the agreement
  • An executive committee serving all the schools and sub-committees for each of the schools

The agreed composition of the LGB needs to be recorded and publicised on the school website, with changes to composition and membership recorded within the minutes of relevant meetings.   

For correspondence with the Chair of Governors please address to Mrs C Thomas – Clerk to Governors and deliver via the school office.

Constitution 2022-2023

Governor Type




Staff Governors


Parent Governors


Appointed Governors





Governor List 2022 - 2023

Name Governor Type Area of Responsiblity Terms of Office 
Penny Holmes Ex Officio Headteacher from May 2021  
Susan Manzi Appointed Consultant Chair of Governors (TKAT Appointment)  

Start date: 22nd June 2022

End date: 21st June 2026

Rachael Holley Appointed


Start date: 7th May 2019

End date: 6th May 2023

Yemisi Saromi Parent  

Start date: 1st February 2021

End date: 31st January 2025

Cory Bassett Staff  -

Elected by staff 28th September 2021

End date: 27th September 2025

Eleanor Lucas Appointed


Start date: 28th September 2021

End date: 27th September 2025

Lee Osborne Appointed


Start date: 16th March 2022

End date: 15th March 2026

Quinton Naido Appointed


Start date: 16th March 2022

End date: 15th March 2026

Merisha Wright Appointed by parents  

Start date: 21st June 2022

End date: 20th June 2026

Carol Thomas   Clerk to Governors  


Governors who left office in academid year (2022-2023)

None at present


Governors attendance 2021-2022


Penny Holmes 100%
Zoe Faragher 83%
Rachael Holley 100%
Eleanor Lucas 83%
Yemisi Saromi 67%
Cory Bassett 60%
Lee Osborne 67%
Quinton Naidoo 67%
Merisha Wright 50%
Sam Thomas 50%
Cathi Barker 67%
Meera Tiwari 67%
Carol Thomas (Clerk) 100%



Governors who left office in academic year (2021-22)


Governor Type

Area of Responsibility

Declaration of interest

Term of Office

Matthew Armstrong Staff governor Staff governor Nill return

Start date:


End date:




Sam Thomas Parent Pupil Premium & ACE Nill return

Start date: 7/5/19

End date:


Resigned: 18/1/22

Meera Tiwari Appointed Health and Safety & Finance Nill return

Start date:


End date: 29/9/24



Cathi Barker Appointed Attendance & Wellbeing Nill return

Start date: 7/5/19

End date:




Zoe Faragher Chair of Governors Safeguarding & behaviour Family member works at TKAT

Start date:


End date: